Frequently Asked Questions
Below is a list of the most commonly asked questions regarding Illinois Concealed Carry and Joe's Guns training program
Click The Below Questions To Reveal The Answer
1. Who needs an Illinois Concealed Carry License?
A.) Everyone who wants to carry a concealed firearm on his/her person in Illinois is required to have an Illinois Concealed Carry License except current peace officers and retired police officers eligible under a federally approved retired officer concealed carry program such as the Illinois Retired Officer Concealed Carry (IROCC) Program. Retired officers may be eligible to carry under either the IROCC Program or the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66).
2. Do I need a valid Illinois' FOID card?
A.) Yes, a valid FOID card is required at Joe’s Guns
3. Which class do I need? The 16 hour, 12 hour or 8 hour class?
A.) If you have 4 hours prior training, you would need to attend Day 1, Thursday evening 5pm-9pm and Day 2, Saturday 8am-4:30pm.
If you have 8 hours prior training, you would need to attend Day 2, Saturday 8:00AM - 4:30PM.
If you have no prior training then you would need to attend all three classes, Day 1, Thursday & Friday 5:00PM - 9:00PM and Day 2, Saturday 8:00AM - 4:30PM.
4. How much will the training cost?
A.) 16 hours is $250, which includes the use of the firearm and ammunition for the training.
12 hours is $200, which includes the use of the firearm and ammunition for the training.
8 hours is $150, which includes the use of the firearm and ammunition for the training.
5. What training qualifies for prior training?
A.) Click here for Recognized Prior Training